acf translation prize winner 2015

The 2015 Austrian Cultural Forum Translation Prize has been awarded to translator, editor, and literary critic Tess Lewis for Angel of Oblivion [Engel des Vergessens/Angel Posabe] by Slovenian-Austrian writer Maja Haderlap.

acf translation prize winner 2011

The winner of the prestigious 2011 Austrian Cultural Forum Translation Prize was renowned American translator Damion Searls. Searls received the award for his translation of Austrian playwright and novelist Elfriede Jelinek’s essay her not all her (on/with Robert Walser) [er nicht als er (zu, mit Robert Walser)], first published in 1998. Jelinek was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2004.

ACF Translation Prize Winner 2010

The winner of the 2010 ACF Translation Prize was David Dollenmayer, who was honored for his translation of Michael Köhlmeier’s Idyll With Drowning Dog (Idylle mit ertrinkendem Hund), first published in German in 2008.

ACF Translation Prize Winners 2009

The inaugural Translation Prize was awarded to three translators: Jean M. Snook, Uljana Wolf, and Christian Hawkey. Wolf and Hawkey collected and translated the works of distinguished author Ilse Aichinger in an anthology of short prose pieces titled Bad Words published by Fischer Verlag. Bad Words includes a large selection of Aichinger’s texts from the sixties onwards that had not been previously published in English. Jean M. Snook’s outstanding translation of Gert Jonke's novel The Distant Sound conveyed the literary and linguistic intricacy of his work in English.