« January - 2019 »

Please note that reservations for events are possible as of 2-3 weeks prior to the date.




THURSDAY, MAY 17 2018, 08:00 PM

The ACFNY is presenting New York-based ensemble mise-en performing world premieres and US premieres of three Austrian and three American-Korean composers as part of their CONNECTIONS concert series. The two concerts will showcase solo and ensemble works by the composers Sungji Hong (Korea/Texas), Mirela Ivičević (Croatia/Austria), Peter Jakober (Austria), Seong Ae Kim (Korea/NYC), Matthias Kranebitter (Austria) and Sojin Yoon (Korea). The second evening of CONNECTIONS will take place at the cell, a space and platform for artists and musicians to share their new and innovative work, where ensemble mise-en will perform ensemble works of the six composers.


Part 2: Ensemble works, May 17 at the cell

Seong Ae Kim: Percée (2018, world premiere)

Sungji Hong: Elevatus (2018, world premiere)

Mirela Ivičević: Baby Magnify / Lilith's New Toy (2017, US premiere)

Peter Jakober: Fast (2018, world premiere)

Matthias Kranebitter: Ghost Box Diaries 24022018 (2018, US premiere

Sojin Yoon: incomplete moonlight (2018, US premiere)

For Part 1: Solo works, May 16 at the ACFNY, please click >>HERE


Ensemble mise-en is a New York-based contemporary music collective led by composer Moon Young HA. Comprised of talented young musicians, ensemble mise-en strives to bring a repertoire of challenging new sounds to diverse audiences, wishing to impart an experience that is simultaneously multicultural, intellectually stimulating, and aesthetically pleasing. Ensemble mise-en performs throughout the U.S. and maintains offices in Brooklyn, NY.


Sungji Hong studied composition at the Hanyang University in Seoul, South Korea, completed her M.M. at the Royal Academy of Music in London and her PhD in Composition with Nicola LeFanu at the University of York in the UK. ​​Over the last decade, Sungji's music has been performed by leading players and ensembles in over 42 countries and 167 cities. ​Her creative output ranges from works for solo instruments to full orchestra, as well as choral, ballet and electroacoustic music. www.sungjihong.com

Mirela Ivičević is Vienna-based composer and performer from Split, Croatia. She completed a Master's degree in Composition at the Academy of Music in Zagreb, Croatia, postgraduate studies in Media Composition at the University of Music and Performing Arts (MDW) in Vienna, Austria, and a postgraduate course in composition with Beat Furrer at the Kunstuniversität Graz. Her work focuses mainly on exploration of reflective and subversive potential of sound, using bits and pieces of reality, abducted from their natural environment into a surreal acoustic world. Ivičević is a co-founder and member of Black Page Orchestra, a Viennese ensemble for radical and uncompromising music of current times. www.cargocollective.com/mirelaivicevic

Peter Jakober studied composition with Georg Friedrich Haas and Gerd Kühr at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz. So far his works have been interpreted by the Ensemble Recherche, the Aleph Guitar Quartet, Klangforum Wien, the Arditti Quartet, Cologne's Thürmchen Ensemble, the Ensemble für Neue Musik Graz and the Graz Orgelpfeifenorchester. Performances of his works have taken place at the Konzerthaus Berlin, Ars nova of the SWR Deutschland, the Musikprotokoll at the Steirische Herbst, and Wien Modern, to name a few. www.peterjakober.com

Seong Ae Kim is a Korean-born composer based in New York City. She holds a BA and MA in both composition and conducting from University for Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, and from Drew University, and a PhD in composition from Stony Brook University. Her most recent work #MeToo for bass clarinet and percussion, commissioned by Josh Perry and Vasko Dukovski, was premiered as part of the 2017/18 ensemble mise-en curator series. www.seongaekim.com

Matthias Kranebitter was born in 1980 in Vienna, Austria. He studied electro-acoustic composition with Dieter Kaufmann and German Toro-Perez, film and media composition with Klaus-Peter Sattler and piano with Christiane Karajeva at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. He continued his studies with a postgraduate course at the Conservatory van Amsterdam as well as at the University of Graz with Alexander Stankovski and Beat Furrer. He is the founder of the ensemble Black Page Orchestra as well as one of the initiators of UNSAFE+SOUNDS FESTIVAL - anti-disciplinary Festival / Media Arts Music in Vienna. www.matthiaskranebitter.com

Sojin Yoon is a composer of acoustic, electronic, and mixed media works. She studied composition at Ewha Womans University and studied electro-acoustic music at Korea National University of Arts. She also performed the audiovisual performance 'Compose from the less' in 2015. As a founder of Seoul based new music collective, 'Arts Incubator', she organizes and creates diverse and experimental projects. www.artsincubator.kr

Admission is free and open to the public.

Image Credits: Julia Hembree

Note that a reservation does not guarantee a seat.
Please come at least 15 min prior to the show – first come first serve for sitting places.

The CONNECTIONS Series is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York CityDepartment of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

the cell
338 W 23rd St, New York, NY 10011