« December - 2018 »

Please note that reservations for events are possible as of 2-3 weeks prior to the date.




MONDAY, APR 10 2017, 12:30 PM - 01:30 PM

The ACFNY recommends Lex54 Concerts on April 10, featuring compositions by Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas. The concert features the world premiere of Hochzeitsmarsch, an ambitious work by leading Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas.

Haas wrote this work to celebrate his much publicized wedding to Molina Haas-Williams. Rather than referring to the institutional or traditional trappings of wedding, the work is one single enormous accelerando that goes through numerous transformations before settling on a cumulative arrival of all its instrumental forces. While Hochzeitsmarsch celebrates the more heated side of love, das Ende der Sehnsucht, also written for the Williams/Haas marriage, which celebrates the deeper, more sublime connections of their bond. Violist Stephanie Griffin will perform Tristan Murail's C'est un jardin secret, ma soeur, ma fiancée, une source scellée, une fontaine close..., written as a wedding present for two of the composer's friends. This solo work summarizes many characteristics of the composer's music into a work for a single instrument. A short sequence of processes, featuring sliding tempi and subtle fluctuations of finger and bowing pressure, is neatly concluded by a mysterious ascending figure. To complement this work, Argento programs two other Murail miniatures: flutist Emi Ferguson will perform Unanswered Questions; violinist Doori Na and clarinetist Carol McGonnell will perform Les ruines circulaires. Argento will perform the US premiere of Ryan Beppel's Sterbetourismus, a string octet with two conductors dedicated to the marriage of Ken and Alana Bergman who married in 2013. Two conductors are required to realize the overlapping acceleration structures that have become a hallmark of Beppel's work. Finally, the program will include Siegfried Idyll, a birthday gift that Richard Wagner wrote for Cosima Wagner celebrating the birth of their son Siegfried.



Tristan Murail - C'est un jardin secret, ma sœur, ma fiancée, une source scellée, une fontaine close... (1976) for viola
Stephanie Griffin, viola

Tristan Murail - Les Ruines circulaires (1998) for clarinet and violin
Doori Na, violin, Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Tristan Murail - Unanswered Questions (1995) for flute
Emi Ferguson, flute

Georg Friedrich Haas - Das Ende der Sehnsucht (2016) for clarinet and ensemble
World premiere
Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Ryan Beppel - Octet (2013)
U.S. premiere

Georg Friedrich Haas - Hochzeitsmarsch (2016) for clarinet and ensemble
World premiere
Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Richard Wagner - Siegfried Idyll - (1870) symphonic poem for chamber orchestra

Performed by Argento Chamber Ensemble
Michel Galante, Conductor

Georg Friedrich Haas grew up in Tschagguns (Vorarlberg) and studied composition with Gösta Neuwirth, Iván Erőd, and piano with Doris Wolf at the Musikhochschule in Graz, Styria. Since 1978, he has been teaching as an instructor and since 1989 as an associate professor in counterpoint, contemporary composition techniques, analysis, and introduction to microtonal music. Haas is a founding member of the Graz composers' collective Die andere Seite. He composes in a cottage in Fischbach, Styria.
Haas completed two years of postgraduate studies at the Hochschule für Musik in Vienna with Friedrich Cerha, participated in the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, and the computer music course at IRCAM. He received a fellowship from the Salzburg Festival, was awarded the Sandoz Prize in 1992 and a music grant from the National Ministry of Science, Research, and Culture. Works by Haas have been on the programs of the following festivals: Wien Modern (Vienna), Musikprotokoll (Graz), Witten, Huddersfield, Royaumont, Venice Biennale, Festival d'Automne (Paris), as well as at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse and the Salzburg Festival 2011. Since 2005, he has lectured at the Hochschule in Basel, Switzerland. From September 2013 on, Haas has been a Professor of Composition at Columbia University, New York.

Argento is New York City’s premiere virtuoso chamber ensemble dedicated to innovative musical performance and the discovery of daring artistic paths. Championing contemporary cutting-edge composers and framing classical repertoire in new contexts, Argento inspires musical inquiry through artistic collaboration and education.

More information on the concert >>here.

Saint Peter's Church
619 Lexington Avenue at 54 St, New York