« June - 2020 »
SMTWTFS
 0203040506
07080910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 
ACFNY SUPPORTED | ONLINE READING & TALK

ACFNY SUPPORTED | ONLINE READING & TALK

ANNA GOLDENBERG & ALTA L. PRICE IN CONVERSATION

SUNDAY, MAY 24 2020, - MONDAY, AUG 31 2020

I BELONG TO VIENNA
by Anna Goldenberg
transl. by Alta L Price
New Vessel Press, New York, 2020
>>DETAILS ABOUT THE BOOK

>>LINK TO THE PODCAST


In autumn 1942, Anna Goldenberg’s great-grandparents and one of their sons are deported to the Theresienstadt concentration camp. Hans, their elder son, survives by hiding in an apartment in the middle of Nazi-controlled Vienna. But this is no Anne Frank-like existence; teenage Hans passes time in the municipal library and buys standing room tickets to the Vienna State Opera. He never sees his family again. Goldenberg reconstructs this unique story in magnificent reportage. She also portrays Vienna’s undying allure - although they tried living in the United States after World War Two, both grandparents eventually returned to the Austrian capital. The author, too, has returned to her native Vienna after living in New York herself, and her fierce attachment to her birthplace enlivens her engrossing biographical history. A probing tale of heroism, resilience, identity and belonging, marked by a surprising freshness as a new generation comes to terms with history's darkest era.

As part of Trafika Europe's "Women in Translation Series" the author speaks with her translator about the forthcoming English version of Versteckte Jahre (Zsolnay, 2018) which is scheduled to be published by New Vessel Press in June.

"A meticulous evocation of an unknown Austria, Anna Goldenberg’s affecting family memoir brings to life the story of Viennese Jews who decided not to flee their homes after the Anschluss. This salutary tribute forces us to reflect on what it means to try and live a 'normal life' in the throes of a political nightmare."  - George Prochnik

"Anna Goldenberg brings the memory of her grandparents to life and sweeps us away with her portrayal of bravery and endurance. This is an important and wonderful book." - Doron Rabinovici

"Goldenberg has written a big, important, quiet and disturbing book. It is ruthless and precise, honest and inquisitive, showing the bright side of a family’s fate as well as the dark." - Falter

****

Premiere livestream: Sunday 24 May 2020, 2:00pm EDT = 11am in California = 7pm in London = 8pm in Austria (and Paris and Berlin) = 9pm in Istanbul (etc.)

First encore: Tuesday 26 May 2020, 7:00am EDT = noon in London = 1pm in Austria, Paris & Berlin = 2pm in Jerusalem = 4:30pm in New Delhi = 8pm in Tokyo = 9pm in Sydney (etc.)

Second encore: Thursday 28 May 2020, 2:00pm EDT = 11am in California = 7pm in London = 8pm in Austria (and Paris and Berlin) = 9pm in Istanbul (etc.)

In the week following these livestream presentations, the episode will be archived as a podcast in the Trafika Europe Radio Women in Translation series.

Listeners can sign up with their email at Trafika Europe Radio to stay informed on upcoming shows!

ABOUT

Anna Goldenberg, born in 1989 in Vienna, studied psychology at the University of Cambridge and journalism at Columbia University. She worked at the Jewish newspaper The Forward in New York before returning to Vienna where she now writes as a freelance journalist.

Alta L. Price translates from Italian and German, and was awarded the 2013 Gutekunst Prize. Her publications include work by Corrado Augias, Dana Grigorcea, Jürgen Holstein, and Martin Mosebach. She is co-curator of the 2020-2021 edition of Festival Neue Literatur.

Image Credits: Donelly Marks (Alta L. Price), www.corn.at/Deuticke (Anna Goldenberg)

VENUE
Online