« July - 2020 »
10 | ACFNY | 12

10 | ACFNY | 12


THURSDAY, OCT 25 2012, 07:30 PM

Celebrating 10 Years of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York

The anniversary concert series continues with this performance by acclaimed Vienna-based Hugo Wolf Quartet, who are frequent guests at the Austrian Cultural Forum New York. This concert will feature the world premiere of a commissioned composition by Italian composer Manuela Kerer, as well as the world premiere of a composition by Gabriel Iranyi - both of which are dedicated to the Hugo Wolf Quartet.


Philippe Hersant: String Quartet No. 2 (1988)

Gabriel Iranyi: String Quartet No. 4, ...Innenräume, Verwebungen.... (2012) - world premiere

Manuela Kerer: seelenblitz (Soul-flash), String quartet (2012) - world premiere

For Manuela Kerer one of the most wonderful sounds to ever exist, is the sound of laughter. Drawing inspiration from the various facets of this phenomenon, she translated it into her abstract musical language. This string quartet is the third in a cycle about different human fields of perception. Thus the preceding string quartet monddüne (moon-dune, 2009) deals with sleep and the string quartet geheimniswiege (mystery-cradle, 2011/2012) with visual perception.

"seelenblitz (soul-flash) is dedicated to the Hugo Wolf Quartet, who bring the soul to laughter with their splendid sounds!" - Manuela Kerer


Born 1980 in Bressanone, italy, Manuela Kerer studied composition with Martin Lichtfuss at the Tyrol conservatory in Innsbruck, Austria. She studied also violin, law and psychology. She was scholarship holder of the "Akademie avantgarde tirol" and of the Rotary Club in 2007 and was awarded the grant for composers by the Austrian state in 2008.

She continued her studies with Alessandro Solbiati in Milan and attended numerous master classes and workthops, such as the "Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt" (2008). In 2008, she won the  Gustav Mahler composition competition in Klagenfurt.

Manuela Kerer has composed works for Klangspuren Schwaz, Ensemble ascolta, Stadler Trio, Landesmuseum Ferdinandeum Innsbruck, die reihe/Wien, Ensemble Windkraft, and Ensemble Reconsil Wien.

Composer Philippe Hersant, born in 1948 in Rome, studied music at the Paris Conservatory, notably in the composition class of André Jolivet, before residing at the Casa Velasquez from 1970 to 1972 and then at the Villa Medici from 1978 to 1980. Since 1973 he has been a producer for radio broadcasts with France Musique.

With a varied catalogue of around ninety compositions (not counting his scores for the cinema and the theatre), Philippe Hersant has achieved broad recognition on the contemporary music scene. He has received commissions from such illustrious institutions as the French Ministry of Culture, Radio France (Le Château des Carpathes, in 1991, Trio, Violin Concerto in 2004), Paris Opera (the ballet Wuthering Heights, in 2002) Leipzig Opera (the opera Le Moine noir, in 2006), and many more.

Composer Gabriel Iranyi was born in Cluj-Napoca (Transylvania) Romania. He studied composition at the "George Dima" Music Academy in Cluj at Sigismund Todutza (a former pupil of Pizetti and Casella). 1971 he received a professorship for Counterpoint (Renaissance, Baroque and XX. Century) in Iasi at the "George Enescu" Music University. From 1977-1981 Iranyi taught musical-forms, counterpoint, and theory at the Tel Aviv University. There he studied electroacoustic music with Itzhak Sadai (a former pupil of Pierre Shaeffer, Paris). 1978 and 1984 he took part as a DAAD fellow at the Darmstadt Summer Courses for New Music in composition classes of Cristobal Halffter, Brian Ferneyhough and Helmut Lachenmann.

The encounters with György Ligeti, György Kurtág, Morton Feldman and Günther Becker were of particular importance to him. Iranyi has lived as a freelance composer in Berlin since 1988. he holds a PhD in musicology, and has lectured extensively at Universities around the world. His works have received numerous composition awards: "Gaudeamus Prize" 1979 (Netherlands), "Arthur Rubinstein" Composition Prize 1979 (Israel), First Prize "Valentino Bucchi Competition" 1980 (Rome), price of 11th Composition competition in the Vienna Summer Seminar for New Music 2005 and a commission from the Senat for Culture in Berlin.

For more information, please visit >> gabrieliranyi.dehttp://www.gabrieliranyi.de


In the course of just a few short years, the Hugo Wolf Quartet has developed from a chamber music lover’s best-kept secret to one of the most sought-after string quartets of its generation. Founded in 1993 at the Vienna University for Music, the quartet received official permission by the International Hugo Wolf Society of Vienna to use the composer's name. The group’s current members are violinists Sebastian Gürtler, Régis Bringolf and Gertrud Weinmeister, and cellist Florian Berner. Internationally, the Hugo Wolf Quartet has appeared in prominent concert halls such as Wigmore Hall London, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, Symphony Hall in Birmingham, Carnegie Hall New York, Mozarteum Salzburg, Musikverein Wien, and Konzerthaus in Vienna, among many other venues. Prestigious chamber music series in which the ensemble has participated include the Frick Collection in New York, and the National Gallery and the Kreeger Museum in Washington, DC

What distinguishes this quartet from others, aside from what The New York Times calls “penetrating intensity” and The Los Angeles Times terms “urgent and impassioned” performances, is its keen and insightful programming, which includes such contemporary composers as Friedrich Cerha, Dirk D’Ase, Otto M. Zykan, Zbigniew Bargielski, and Erich Urbanner. The quartet has also included compositions by jazz musicians Kenny Wheeler and Wolfgang Muthspiel.

Vivien Schweitzer attended the Quartet's March 2011 concert at the ACFNY, and reviewed it for The New York Times: "The Hugo Wolf Quartet offered a spirited and graciously buoyant rendition of the short and sunny work as part of a program devoted to its namesake on Wednesday evening in the Austrian Cultural Forum’s intimate performance space. [...] The ensemble’s members — the violinists Sebastian Gürtler and Régis Bringolf, the violist Gertrud Weinmeister and the cellist Florian Berner — played the songful melodies with poise, elegantly highlighting the gentle witticisms. [...] the musicians here played with energy and subtle shadings, with Mr. Berner’s beautifully rich tone enhancing the performance."

Read the entire New York Times review here.