« January - 2021 »
10 | ACFNY | 12

10 | ACFNY | 12


WEDNESDAY, APR 18 2012, 07:30 PM

Celebrating 10 Years of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York

The anniversary concert series continues with this performance by Austria's foremost contemporary ensemble, Klangforum. The program for this night’s event will include the world premiere of a newly commissioned composition by Polish composer Agata Zubel, as well as works by Roman Haubenstock-Ramati, Györgi Kurtag, Salvatore Sciarrino, and a composition by Johannes Maria Staud.

A repeat performance will take place April 19. >> More information.

This event holds a special meaning for the ACFNY: On this very day exactly 10 years ago, on April 18, 2002, Klangforum performed the inaugural concert at the official opening of the brand new Austrian Cultural Forum building.


Agata Zubel: What is the word (World Premiere, 2012)
Roman Haubenstock-Ramati: 1. String Trio (1948/1978 new Version) 
Johannes Maria Staud: Celluloid (2011)
Györgi Kurtag: In Nomine - all'ongherese (2001, rev. 2004)
Isang Yun: Quartet for oboe, violin, viola, and  violoncello (1994)
Franco Donatoni Rima: Fili (1981) 
Salvatore Sciarrino: Malinconia (1980)


Klangforum Wien is an Austrian chamber orchestra, based in Vienna at the Konzerthaus, which specializes in contemporary classical music. The group is often cited as Austria's leading contemporary music ensemble, and is particularly noted for its performances of music by composers of German-speaking countries. Photo (c) Lukas Beck.
For more information, please visit >> www.klangforum.athttp://www.klangforum.at


Agata Zubel was born in Wroclaw. She graduated with honors Primus Inter Pares from the Karol Lipinski Academy of Music where she studied composition with Jan Wichrowski and voice with Danuta Paziuk-Zipser. In 2004, she received a doctorate in musical arts. She also studied in the Netherlands and took numerous courses. She is currently teaching at the Academy of Music in Wroclaw. She has received scholarships granted by the Ministry of Culture, the Rockefeller Foundation, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, the Executive Board of the City of Wroclaw, and the International Foundation for Education. She is also a member of the Polish Composers’ Union.
For more information, please visit >> www.zubel.pl

This concert is made possible through generous support from Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of Polska Music Programme.
>> www.iam.pl
>> www.polskamusic.pl



The year 2012 will mark the 10th anniversary of the opening of the Austrian Cultural Forum’s landmark midtown building, which was designed by the late Raimund Abraham, as what Herbert Muschamp of the New York Times called a "lucidly rational modern glass tower" that provides a “gateway into the tradition of modernity associated with Vienna at the turn of the last century.” A host of different events and series throughout the year will commemorate these past ten years on many different levels.

Ten concerts featuring newly commissioned works and dedications by contemporary composers will form the musical focal point of these special anniversary programs. While most of the featured composers are Austrian, the performers will be renowned Austrian and American contemporary ensembles, such as Klangforum, Talea Ensemble, ICE Ensemble, and the JACK Quartet.

The ten concerts, which will take place throughout the year, reflect the gateway to modernity associated with Austria in the ten years following this most recent turn of the century. Composers such as Bernhard Lang, Kurt Schwertsik, Manuela Kerer, and Johannes Maria Staud are at the forefront of cutting-edge creativity, and as such the ideal representatives of what contemporary Austrian music has to offer.


homeeventsthe buildingthe buildinghistoryarchitecturefactsthe booktourslibrarylibrarymembership programpresspress materialsaboutaboutvisit & contactmissionhistoryteampartnersthe austrian foreign ministryacf translation prize