« January - 2021 »
10 | ACFNY | 12

10 | ACFNY | 12


FRIDAY, FEB 17 2012, 08:00 PM


Celebrating 10 Years of the Austrian Cultural Forum New York

The anniversary concert series will kick off with this performance by the ground-breaking New York-based Talea Ensemble, who will collaborate with French soprano Donatienne Michel-Dansac. The program for this night’s event will include the U.S. premieres of compositions by Austrian composers Clemens Gadenstätter and Bernhard Gander, as well as the performance of a piece by Bernhard Lang. Following the intermission, composer George Lewis will engage in a brief conversation with Lang and Gander, who wil be personally present for this event.


Bernhard Lang: DW 16: Songbook 1 (2004)
Clemens Gadenstätter: Streichtrio II (U.S. Premiere) (1992)
Bernhard Gander: ö (U.S. Premiere) (2004)



New York-based Talea Ensemble is renowned for its advocacy for new and contemporary music, with an aim to increase awareness and understanding of contemporary music through outreach by participating in residencies, performances, and projects for broad audiences. Talea Ensemble’s recent concert with the ACFNY dedicated to the oeuvre of Austrian composer Olga Neuwirth was named one of the year’s best by Artforum magazine.
For more information, please visit: www.taleaensemble.org

French soprano Donatienne Michel-Dansac studied violin and piano at the Conservatoire National de Région in Nantes, and later studied voice at the Paris Conservatoire. Thanks to her close collaboration with IRCAM (since 1993) she has premiered numerous works by such composers as Philippe Manoury, Pascal Dusapin, Luca Francesconi, Georges Aperghis, Fausto Romitelli, and Philippe Leroux. Donatienne Michel-Dansac is also intensely involved with baroque repertoire.
For more information, please visit: http://www.smcq.qc.ca/smcq/en/artistes/m/micheldansac_do/


Bernhard Lang is an Austrian composer of the experimental and avant-garde school, particularly advocating a style he has self-termed "repetition-perpetrator", and has composed almost 30 pieces under the name Differenz/Wiederholung (difference / repetition). Lang and his work were featured at the Austrian Cultural Forum’s 2009 Moving Sounds Festival, which saw the U.S. premiere of his piece DW2.
For more information on Bernhard Lang, please visit: http://members.chello.at/bernhard.lang/

Clemens Gadenstätter’s work revolves around the semantic aspects of sounds. His interest lies not only in the sounds of new music, but more generally, all sounds that shape the human hearing experience: noises from everyday life, entertainment, music, and even sounds from advertisement or movies.
For more information on Clemens Gadenstätter, please visit: www.gadenstaetter.info

Austrian composer Bernhard Gander was born in 1969, and studied at piano and conducting in the conservatory in Innsbruck. Later, he studied composition in Graz with Beat Furrer, and electro-acoustic music at Studio UPIC/Paris and Zürich. His works have been performed by Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, and at concerts in Vienna, Paris, Zürich, Seattle, Japan, Munich, and Seoul. Gander’s piece Neid (2009), was performed at the ACFNY last September, by the incomparable Eva Reiter at the 2011 Moving Sounds Festival.

George Lewis
, who will lead the conversation with Bernhard Lang and Bernhard Gander after the intermission, is the Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music at Columbia University. The recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship in 2002, an Alpert Award in the Arts in 1999, and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Lewis studied composition with Muhal Richard Abrams at the AACM School of Music, and trombone with Dean Hey. A member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) since 1971, Lewis's work as composer, improvisor, performer and interpreter explores electronic and computer music, computer-based multimedia installations, text-sound works, and notated and improvisative forms, and is documented on more than 140 recordings. His widely acclaimed book, A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music (University of Chicago Press, 2008) is a recipient of the 2009 American Book Award.



The year 2012 will mark the 10th anniversary of the opening of the Austrian Cultural Forum’s landmark midtown building, which was designed by the late Raimund Abraham, as what Herbert Muschamp of the New York Times called a "lucidly rational modern glass tower" that provides a “gateway into the tradition of modernity associated with Vienna at the turn of the last century.” A host of different events and series throughout the year will commemorate these past ten years on many different levels.

Ten concerts featuring newly commissioned works and dedications by contemporary composers will form the musical focal point of these special anniversary programs. While most of the featured composers are Austrian, the performers will be renowned Austrian and American contemporary ensembles, such as Klangforum, Talea Ensemble, ICE Ensemble, and the JACK Quartet.

The ten concerts, which will take place throughout the year, reflect the gateway to modernity associated with Austria in the ten years following this most recent turn of the century. Composers such as Bernhard Lang, Kurt Schwertsik, Manuela Kerer, and Johannes Maria Staud are at the forefront of cutting-edge creativity, and as such the ideal representatives of what contemporary Austrian music has to offer.

Czech Center New York at the Bohemian National Hall
321 E 73rd St., (betw. 1st & 2nd Ave)
New York, NY 10021

homeeventsthe buildingthe buildinghistoryarchitecturefactsthe booktourslibrarylibrarymembership programpresspress materialsaboutaboutvisit & contactmissionhistoryteampartnersthe austrian foreign ministryacf translation prize