« September - 2020 »



SATURDAY, SEP 21 2013, 08:30 PM

This concert by the New York-based ensemble mise-en is part of this year’s Moving Sounds festival, and will feature two US premieres of works by Arnold Schoenberg and Mirela Ivičević, and world premiere performances of compositions by Moon Young Ha, Friedrich Heinrich Kern, and a commissioned piece for mixed ensemble and electronics by young Austrian composer Matthias Kranebitter.

In his music, Kranebitter strives to modify music using “cheap” musical material (e.g. in his electronic compositions dealing with simple midi sounds) as well as clichéd musical gestures and tonalities with ironic ambivalence. He continues to search for a quasi anti-musical mode of expression, questioning conventional manners in order to liberate himself from cultural restrictions.


Arnold SchoenbergGavotte Und Musette (Im Alten Style) Für Streichorchester (1897, US premiere)
Matthias Kranebitternihilistic study no.7 (2013, world premiere)
Friedrich Heinrich Kern: Les Adieux (2012, rev. 2013, world premiere)
Mirela IvičevićThe Rape of Rainbow (2012, US premiere)
Moon Young HAscène iii (2013, world premiere)



ensemble mise-en (photo by Noah Stern Weber) is an innovative and versatile New York-based contemporary music collective led by composer Moon Young HA. Featuring more than fifteen of New York’s most talented musicians, this international group strives to bring a repertoire of challenging new sounds to different audiences. The ensemble wishes to impart an experience that is simultaneously multi-cultural, intellectually stimulating, and aesthetically pleasing (“mee” in Korean means “beauty”, and “zahn” means “to decorate”), promoting large-scale composition projects and intense performances of contemporary music with programs featuring the works of many established and budding composers alike. Ensemble mise-en gave their Moving Sounds Festival debut last September, with a spirited performance at the Czech Center’s Bohemian Hall. They also performed with Austrian electronic giant Wolfang Mitterer at (le) poisson rouge.

New York-based composer Moon Young HA originally hails from Seoul, South Korea, is currently pursuing his Ph.D in composition at New York University. His work focuses on combining traditional instruments with electronics and video, and has been presented at festivals and concerts in Europe, Asia and the Americas by ensembles such as Alarm Will Sound, Empyrean Ensemble, LOOS Ensemble, Ensemble s21, among others.

Austrian composer Matthias Kranebitter, (born 1980 in Vienna), studied electro-acoustic composition with Dieter Kaufmann and German Toro-Perez, film music with Klaus-Peter Sattler and piano with Christiane Karajeva at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna. He has also studied with Alexander Stankovski and Beat Furrer. His works received awards such as 1st Prize Gustav Mahler Composition Competition 2006, 2nd Prize Zurich Jazz Orchestra Competition or the 1st Prize Project Young Composers Gaudeamus Music Week Amsterdam 2009. In 2011 he was commissioned to write a chamber opera for the SireneOperntheater Wien. In 2012 the Jeunesse and the Austrian broadcaster ORF dedicated a concert to his music in the Radiokulturhaus Wien. He represented Austria at the ISCM World New Music Days 2012 in Belgium and was also one of the 4 nominated composers for the International Impuls Academy in Graz 2013 where he was commissioned to write a new ensemble piece for the Klangforum Wien. He recently received the Publicity Prize of the SKE Austro Mechana 2013.



For the fifth consecutive year, the Austrian Cultural Forum New York is producing Moving Sounds, a festival dedicated to music, visual media and aesthetic dialogue that features emerging and pioneering artists who focus on electronically generated music, and those who are at the interface of classically instrumented and electronic music.

>> acfny.org/MSOUNDS

622 Degraw Street,
Brooklyn, NY 11217

$10 cover for the entire day.