« November - 2020 »



SATURDAY, SEP 15 2012, 07:30 PM

The Austrian Cultural Forum is pleased to present this concert by the renowned JACK Quartet as part of the Moving Sounds 2012 festival, as well as the ACFNY’s special 10-year anniversary series of programs.

This concert will feature the world premiere of a new composition by Austrian composer Clemens Gadenstätter, and a performance of Georg Friedrich Haas’s String Quartet No. 5. Gadenstätter’s Streichtrio II saw its U.S. Premiere in February, when Talea Ensemble performed it as part of the ACFNY’s anniversary concert series. This concert also represents a reunion of sorts: When the JACK Quartet performed Haas’s String Quartet No. 3 (In iij. Noct., 2001) at Moving Sounds two years ago, the New York Times’ Allan Kozinn deemed it one of the best performances of 2010. (Notes by the New Yorker’s Alex Ross on that performance are available >> here.)



Clemens Gadenstätter - häuten: Paramyth (String quartet 1) (2012) *world premiere
Georg Friedrich Haas - String Quartet No. 5 (2007)



Comprising violinists Christopher Otto and Ari Streisfeld, violist John Pickford Richards, and cellist Kevin McFarland, the JACK Quartet is focused on the commissioning and performance of new works, leading them to work closely with composers such as Helmut Lachenmann, György Kurtág, Matthias Pintscher, Georg Friedrich Haas, James Dillon, Toshio Hosokawa, Wolfgang Rihm, Elliott Sharp, Beat Furrer, Caleb Burhans, and Aaron Cassidy. In addition to working with composers and performers, the JACK Quartet seeks to broaden and diversify the potential audience for new music through educational presentations designed for a variety of ages, backgrounds, and levels of musical experience. The JACK Quartet electrifies audiences worldwide with "explosive virtuosity" (Boston Globe) and "viscerally exciting performances" (New York Times). David Patrick Stearns (Philadelphia Inquirer) proclaimed their performance as being "among the most stimulating new-music concerts of my experience."

>> More information: www.jackquartet.com



Clemens Gadenstätter’s work revolves around the semantic aspects of sounds. Born in Zell am See, Austria, in 1966, he studied composition with Erich Urbanner and Helmut Lachenmann, and flute at the Music University in Vienna.

Gadenstätter has composed commissioned pieces for the Musikbiennale Berlin, the Südwestrundfunk Baden-Baden (Donaueschinger Musiktage 2001, 2005, 2012), Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart, Konzerthaus Berlin, Musik der Jahrhunderte – Stuttgart, Wien Modern, Austrian National Broadcaster ORF, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Recherche, the Salzburger Festival, and Ensemble Modern among others. He has collaborated with a host of orchestras such as RSO – Wien, SWR Orchestra Freiburg and Baden Baden, Hilversum Kamerorkest, RSB Berlin, Philharmonie de Luxemnburg; Ensembles such as Ensemble Modern, Klangforum Wien, ASAMISIMASA – Oslo, L'Instant Donné Paris, Ensemble Recherche, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Ensemble Ascolta Stuttgart, Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart, Phase Contemporary Wien, Trio Accanto Freiburg; and soloists and conductors including Peter Eötvös, Peter Rundel, Arturo Tamayo, Beat Furrer, Pascal Rophe, Johannes Kalitzke, Ernst Kovacic, Marcus Weiss, and Florian Müller.

His interest lies not only in the sounds of new music, but more generally, all sounds that shape the human hearing experience: noises from everyday life, entertainment, music, and even sounds from advertisement or movies. Information on the recent performance of Gadenstätter’s piece by Talea Ensemble is available in transforum #14

>> More information: www.gadenstaetter.info

Austrian spectral composer Georg Friedrich Haas has been teaching counterpoint, contemporary composition techniques, analysis, and introduction to microtonal music at the Musikhochschule in Graz since 1978, first as university lecturer, later as professor. In 1997, he took a sabbatical to be able to dedicate himself completely to composing. Since 2005 Haas has taught composition classes at the Conservatory of Music of the City of Basel Music Academy.

It is the remarkable multifacetedness that makes Haas’ music so fascinating. His works are filled with a dramaturgy of sound that reveals itself to the listener very directly, and above all nonverbally. They attest to a penetration of profane life with what can only be referred to as a mystical power of sound, a unification of the pleasant and the rough, the exuberant and the ugly, in a world of sound where dissonance represents the measure of all things rather than consonance. Haas is convinced that “the various musical traditions are not looking for conformity with the proportions of the partial tone series, but rather are trying to depart from it.” It’s not about union, but dissonance, he says. According to Haas, abstract chord develops its own independent quality, and therein lies the compositional conclusion (- Lisa Farthofer. The entire article is available >> here).

Works by Haas were featured in the Moving Sounds Festivals 2009 and 2010, and the composer and his oeuvre were also part of the Spring 2009 ACFNY Composer Series. An article on Haas by Bernhard Guenther was featured in issue #4 of transforum.



For the fourth consecutive year, the Austrian Cultural Forum New York has teamed up with the Argento New Music Project’s director, Michel Galante, to produce Moving Sounds, a festival dedicated to music, visual media and aesthetic dialogue that features emerging and pioneering artists who focus on electronically generated music, and those who are at the interface of classically instrumented and electronic music.

>> acfny.org/MSOUNDS

The year 2012 also marks the 10th anniversary
of the opening of the Austrian Cultural Forum’s landmark midtown building, which was designed by the late Raimund Abraham, as what Herbert Muschamp of the New York Times called a "lucidly rational modern glass tower" that provides a “gateway into the tradition of modernity associated with Vienna at the turn of the last century.” A host of different events and series throughout the year commemorate these past ten years on many different levels.

Ten concerts featuring newly commissioned works and dedications by contemporary composers form the musical focal point of these special anniversary programs. While most of the featured composers are Austrian, the performers are renowned Austrian and American contemporary ensembles, such as Klangforum, Talea Ensemble, ICE Ensemble, and the JACK Quartet.

The ten concerts, which take place throughout the year, reflect the gateway to modernity associated with Austria in the ten years following this most recent turn of the century. Composers such as Bernhard Lang, Kurt Schwertsik, Manuela Kerer, and Thomas Larcher are at the forefront of cutting-edge creativity, and as such the ideal representatives of what contemporary Austrian music has to offer.


homeeventsthe buildingthe buildinghistoryarchitecturefactsthe booktourslibrarylibrarymembership programpresspress materialsaboutaboutvisit & contactmissionhistoryteampartnersthe austrian foreign ministryacf translation prize